Not that ambitious…

January 12, 2012

I’m normally not that ambitious, but today I’ve been thinking a lot about what projects (personally and professionally) I can work on this year since my tentative plan is to stay at home with the baby. I’ve heard that being a stay at home is a full time job, but I’m still hoping to be able to do something to keep my sanity. I’ve even been feeling odd the past 2 weeks, being on maternity leave, since I don’t have that much to do. Well, I still have baby stuff to get ready for, but for some reason, I’ve been feeling lazy and thinking that so long as I have the essentials, I could wing the rest of it when the baby arrives.

Anyways, I’m not sure whether I should try to pursue something in the legal field which is my background, or something new. I’ve kind of been thinking about trying to start my own mommy group in San Francisco. I know that the Golden Gate Mothers Group is a popular one here in San Francisco, but I’ve read some negative reviews on Yelp and it sounds like people are finding that it’s not worth the $75 annual fee and that it’s not as welcoming of those who are on a tighter budget (such as me). I’ve actually been toying with the idea of starting a faith-based mommy group and wondering if I could find interested moms at various churches here in the city (such as Reality, City Church, Cornerstone, etc.). I think a more targeted group of moms would be better conducive to finding a people that I get along with and trust. Opening up the group to just any random mom seems like it’d be too tough – you could potentially end up with all sorts of crazies and other bad apples. I’ll keep you guys posted on where this idea goes, if anywhere…

On a tangent, I’ve fallen into this schedule of getting ready for bed around 10pm, reading in bed until about midnight, getting up to get something to eat around midnight, and then staying up online until 2-3am. I don’t know why, but I feel guilty – it sounds crazy but I’ve had to wake up pretty early for school and work for most of my life so perhaps my guilt is stemming from feeling like this is too luxurious (for me to sleep and be awake as I please). My hubby says that I should just do whatever I feel like doing, to listen to my body, even if it’s an atypical schedule. I guess I’ll try it out… what’s the harm? It’s not like my schedule will remotely resemble my previous work schedule anyways.

Leave a comment