Random Update

December 28, 2011

I haven’t written in awhile so I thought I would provide an update. Christmas has come and gone this past weekend, and now New Year’s is fast approaching, which means that January is right around the corner, which also means that the baby will be arriving fast. I’m so not ready. On a side note, the past 2 weeks of pregnancy have been drastically different from the rest of my pregnancy – much more discomfort and even pain and it’s so hard to move around and to breathe! I was looking forward to the month before my expected due date because I thought that I would be able to do so much – shop around, set up the nursery, enjoy the “quiet time” before the little one arrives – but now I’m not so sure that any of those things sound that enjoyable, particularly since even laying in bed is even that restful these days.

Anyways, this is my last week of work before I go on maternity leave. And actually, I recently found out that because my term at work is ending during my maternity leave, I’m not going back to work after I take my leave. That was unexpected and caused some stress (still is) because it means that I won’t have my medical benefits sooner than I expected. And maybe it’s also due to hormones, but I’ve been super stressed/slightly depressed/really emotional the past week or so thinking about finances, baby, career, etc. Best case scenario would be for T to find a great job with decent benefits before my job actually ends. I have my fingers and toes crossed.

In the meantime, I’ve been winding down at work and trying to clear out some space in our apartment to set up some of the baby’s stuff. I’ve decided not to set up the crib until we actually need it. We already have 2 bassinets and a play pen that the baby could sleep in for the first few months, so I figure that’s gonna be sufficient for sleep purposes. I feel like the space is still manageable and not overly crowded with the bassinet and play pen, and I’d like to leave it that way.

I have a friend who just gave birth to her little girl about 3 weeks ago, and she warned me about how bad the post-partum recovery is and how nobody ever talks about it. Eek. It doesn’t sound too good. I guess I’ll need to stock up on Tucks, prunes, and thick pads on top of my existing list. Also, I think I need to get some nursing gear like bras and shirts… hopefully Old Navy and Gap will have a decent code soon. Speaking of Old Navy, I bought a Groupon ($10 for $20 worth of stuff) recently which expired Christmas Eve, so last week I trekked down to the flagship store in downtown and omg, the lines were soo long, it was dreadful having to wait to make my purchases. Some of the items were cheaper than online, but vice versa, so overall, I’d rather just shop online from now on. As I get older, the more crowds and shopping with “the public” (I know that sounds really snobby) bother me. Lesson learned!

By the way, I picked up this blanket cardigan from my treacherous trip to Old Navy. I love it, I’ve been living in it for the past week I’ve had it! Warm and not too itchy, and it works well with my massive bump.

Leave a Reply

