Rave for Gap Maternity

September 25, 2011

Gap’s maternity line is easily becoming my favorite. The styles themselves did not initially win me over, but the fit/cut/materials eventually did. It just works for my body shape and most of the pieces are so comfortable. So of course when I popped in today to return something, I was super eggcited to see that all of the sale items were an additional 50% off. Love these in-store sales! I got 3 dresses (I’ve been living in dresses and leggings for most of my pregnancy). Here they are:

This one will be perfect with tights and boots. The knit is very substantial, not see-through at all. It surprisingly ran small (I usually wear a small pre-pregnancy, but I tried on a medium as a small was not available, and it fit perfectly), but there is some stretch to grow with your belly. I was tempted to buy it in both the purple and the charcoal, but ended up getting the purple only, since I usually gravitate towards one more than the other when I buy multiples.

I would not have normally thought much of this dress. Nothing’s really wrong with it, but it just looked a little matronly to me on the hanger. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I put it on. Nice fabric (machine-washable polyester that surprisingly did not look cheap). It’ll be a good dress for the office with a little jacket or a cardigan over it. Not to mention, it was $8 and some change. Major score!

This dress is the ultimate comfy dress that doesn’t look too shabby. I was actually going to buy a jersey black dress from H&M before I had gone to the gap, but was glad that I didn’t as this dress is a lot more flattering and made of a better material than the one I saw at H&M. All three dresses totaled under $50. It was a successful shopping day. Very pleased with my purchases!

Leave a Reply

