ASOS order review

September 21, 2011

I recently ordered a few things from asos.com (my first time!), mainly potential items I could wear to an upcoming wedding. The couple requested that the guests wear animal print of some sort, so this is what I ordered:

I literally said “whaat” when I saw the clutch. The website didn’t have the dimensions of the clutch and for some reason, I thought it’d be a similar size to my oversized clutches which I prefer to carry over my smaller clutches (I have too many things to carry). This is more like a wallet, not a clutch, only slightly bigger than my hand. Back it goes. Too bad, because I really wanted it to be my “animal print” piece, since I prefer accessories over clothing in animal print.

Now I know I just said that I prefer accessories in animal print over clothing, but I really really like this dress! This is not maternity, but I sized up in size US 8 (I normally wear a 4/6 pre-pregnancy), and it fits comfortably, maybe even a smidge big, but that’s okay, with a growing belly I prefer clothing to be a little more on the loose side. The material is substantial, cool, and very comfortable. There’s a nice swing to the fabric too. At this rate since I don’t have any other options, I’ll probably wear this dress with some black peep toe heels, a red manicure, and red lipstick.

This dress is from Asos’s maternity line, and I really wanted to like it, but it’s probably going back. There’s not really anything wrong with it, it’s a basic jersey dress, but I didn’t think it was particularly flattering on me. Maybe the color is to blame for why I thought it made me bigger than usual, which is true to what appears on my screen. I ordered a US 8, which seemed to fit fine (for some reason the leopard dress which is nonmaternity in the same size felt a little bigger, but I guess sizing just depends on the item).

Overall I was happy with my experience from Asos. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I love online retailers that offer free shipping and returns. Plus I received my order in exactly a week from the day of my order, not too shabby at all.

Leave a Reply

